Daffodils & Diamonds


36th Annual Daffodils & Diamonds Luncheon and Fashion Show

March 9, 2017

Columbia Country Club
7900 Connecticut Avenue
Chevy Chase, MD 20815

Fashion Show Provided by Nina McLemore

The 35th Annual Daffodils and Diamonds Luncheon successfully took place on Thursday, March 10, 2016, at the Columbia Country Club in Chevy Chase, MD. The event started with wine & champagne and a silent auction in the Columbia Seasons Lounge at 10:30 am, followed by a fashion runway event, sponsored by Julia Farr Collection, of Washington, D.C.,  and then concluded by a luncheon and a message of hope by event co-chair Anne Muir.

WJLA-TV 7 Anchor Alison Starling, a strong supporter, once again emceed the event.

The Daffodils and Diamonds Luncheon was founded by Bethesda’s Alice-Anne Birch in honor of her mother and sister, both of whom succumbed to the disease.  The luncheon is held to raise funds for National Foundation for Cancer Research, specifically for breast and ovarian cancers.

The Daffodils and Diamonds Committee is a group of strong and accomplished women who have resolved to move forward together in the fight against cancer. Thanks to their hard work and generosity, hundreds of thousands of life-saving research dollars have been generated for NFCR’s advanced cancer research.


2016 Committee Members:

Co-Chair: Mrs. Anthony Laws Birch

Co-Chair: Mrs. James Anthony Soltesz

Mrs. John L. Bohraus

Mrs. Kevin Brown

Miss Caroline Flood Cole

Mrs. Nancy Flood Cole

Mrs. Irwin L. Crawford II

Mrs. David Hammond Cunningham

Mrs. Michael J. Doyle

Miss Mary Jane Edwards

Mrs. Henry Harold Elliott Jr.

Ms. Carole Cavanaugh-Fettig

Mrs. John Fritz Finley

Mrs. L. Andrew Funt

Mrs. Trevor Gardner Jr.

Mrs. Joshua Heller

Mrs. Charles H. Hopkins, Jr.

Ms. Charles Howard Kneessi

Ms. Elizabeth Walker Lamond

Ms. J. Lynn Lawson

Mrs. Powell Smith Lindsay

Ms. Carrie Mann

Mrs. Stephen Cassin Muir

Mrs. Claudia H. Neal

Mrs. Michael Peter Novelli

Ms. Gail Markham Peterson

Mrs. John Edward Powell

Mrs. Walter Edward Rogers Jr.

Ms. Melissa Siegel

Mrs. Harrison Somerville Jr.

Mrs. John Frederick Sturm

Mrs. Phyllis Thomas-Thompson

Mrs. Kristina Koones Veirs

Our committee has decided to support National Foundation for Cancer Research. Proceeds from this luncheon are designated for NFCR’s breast and ovarian cancer research programs. For more information, email Daffodils2017@aol.com